

DATE: April 23, 2020

TO: Depot Network

RE: Approved Handling Commissions

Depot Owners and Operators,

Since February 2019, the BCMB and Interested Parties (ABDA, ABCRC/ABCC & Small Depot Representative, New Norway Depot) have participated in the 2019-2020 Handling Commission Review (HCR). Interested Parties completed the Facilitated Negotiations during March 24-27, 2020 and came to an agreement which was presented to the BCMB Board of Directors for consideration on April 21, 2020.

The BCMB Board of Directors accepted the agreement and approved a revision to the Handling Commission By-law, which includes the new handling commissions, effective May 1, 2020. The Handling Commission By-law has been provided with this notice and can be found on the BCMB website at the following link: <a href="https://www.bcmb.ab.ca/about/governing-documents/">https://www.bcmb.ab.ca/about/governing-documents/</a>

The HCR Agreement included the creation of three BCMB Board committees to perform further analysis of key issues. These committees will work over the next year to develop recommendations and determinations that best serve the industry moving forward. A brief description of each committee has been provided below.

- 1) Policy Committee: this Committee will perform an analysis of the allocation of overhead labor and an analysis of the method used to calculate the value for income tax. The Policy Committee is composed of Directors from the general membership sector of the BCMB Board and have been given authority by the Board to make determinations on the two issues to avoid any real or perceived bias or conflict.
- 2) Depot Viability Committee: this Committee will perform an analysis of depot viability within the common collection system. The Depot Viability Committee is composed of three voting Directors from the general membership sector of the BCMB Board as well as two non-voting Directors, one from the depot sector and one from the manufacturer sector. All HCR Interested Parties will be invited to participate and provide input to this Committee. Recommendations from the Committee will be made to the BCMB Board for approval.
- 3) Return Margin Committee: this Committee will establish the rules for determining the Return Margin for the Alberta depot system. The Return Margin Committee is composed of three voting Directors from the general membership sector of the BCMB Board as well as two non-voting Directors, one from the depot sector and one from the manufacturer sector. Recommendations from the Committee will be made to the BCMB Board for approval.

Should you have any questions regarding the HCR Agreement, handling commissions or the committees described above, please contact BCMB President, Blaire Charlton-Gaalaas at <a href="mailto:bcharlton@bcmb.ab.ca">bcharlton@bcmb.ab.ca</a> or 780-424-3193 ext. 227